New year’s resolution: Finish Disgaea D2 before the year ends

I’m five years behind everyone else. After the PS4 was released, I decided it was finally time to get a PS3. I don’t have a whole lot of money to spend on games – the greatest part of it has to go to my education, food, rent, etc. Whatever games I buy I buy with a part of the writing income I make. Which isn’t all that much.

But I decided I had to have a PS3. One of the reasons for this decision was Disgaea D2, the direct sequel to 2003’s Disgaea: Hour of Darkness.

Disgaea-D2-1

I’ve played about 10 hours of D2 so far. Since I’m on vacation right now, I finally have some time away to play games, read books (that I want to read – i.e. not cases and treatises) and play music. This isn’t a review because I haven’t actually gotten anywhere near finishing D2 yet, but I can say that I haven’t regretted using my scant downtime to play this thing. Part of it is the great cast – Laharl, Etna and Flonne return with all their wacky antics etc. There are some new characters as well, most notably Laharl’s little sister, who may or may not be lying about the fact that she’s his little sister. She wants to take his place as Overlord, you see.

It sure is, Flonne.

It sure is, Flonne.

Notice the new HD sprites – D2 looks great, especially when compared to Disgaea 3, released just a few years ago on the same system.

The gameplay seems to be the same as always – grind-based SRPG action, crazy special abilities, a massively addictive Item World to play in and so on. Everything is here. I’d say it’s more of the same – the Polygon review gives D2 a low rating for this very reason (along with the fact that it has “over-the-top characters” and “eye-rolling jokes” – yeah, this is a Disgaea game; of course it’s got those. What did you expect, dear Polygon reviewer?)

But I heartily disagree with the Polygon review so far. Maybe I just enjoy more of the same. Maybe I enjoy it as long as it’s NIS producing the same high-quality, high-entertainment work they always have. Or maybe I’m just a fanboy (this is probably the truest statement in this post.) If you’re also an NIS fanboy too (or fangirl – I know at least a few of you exist) you probably already have this game, so I don’t actually need to do any convincing here, do I? Anyway, this is a new year’s resolution that I might really keep.

2 thoughts on “New year’s resolution: Finish Disgaea D2 before the year ends

    • That’s good to hear. I didn’t want to spend countless hours leveling again like I did in 1 and 2. As for the humor, it’s a nice break from all the dark depressing stuff RPGs usually involve themselves in. You can only take so much of that.

Leave a Reply

