Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse to be released 9/20

smt-iv-apocalypse-1-2

Just a quick one today, to alert my multitudes of readers to the fact that Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse is being released in three days.  This spinoff of SMT4 is getting excellent reviews all over the place.  I’m reading as little as I can about the story of Apocalypse in order to go in fresh, but the general consensus about the game’s quality seems to be that it’s not merely a spinoff, but a full game in itself, and that it corrects some of the shortcomings that the good but somewhat flawed SMT4 suffered from (see here for more on my opinions regarding the original.)  So needless to say, I’m excited as fuck about this development and have preordered a copy.  I encourage any and all fans of the Megaten series or of stupidly difficult JRPGs in general to do so if you haven’t already.

In the meantime, I’ll be playing Hyper Light Drifter, a 3D isometric action game released earlier this year that looks and sounds amazing so far.  Between these two games, I should be able to distract myself from my crushing depression when I’m not busy with work to think about it.  That’s something to celebrate, isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “Shin Megami Tensei IV: Apocalypse to be released 9/20

    • Ha, Minotaur was nothing. There were other bosses in that game that were completely stupid and ridiculous. Like Beelzebub.

      Actually, that was one of the problems with SMT4, I thought – the boss fights weren’t just difficult, requiring careful strategy, but too often were cheap. I hope that’s something they’ve fixed in Apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

